Review: Zoom! Zoom! Zoom! I’m Off to the Moon! by Dan Yaccarino

I am trying out Perfect Picture Book Friday, hosted by Susanna Leonard Hill, where she has lots more kid book reviews.  I love to offer a peek into what we are reading, so here goes.

This week: Zoom! Zoom! Zoom! I’m Off to the Moon! by Dan Yaccarino.

zoom!

Publisher: Scholastic
Year: 1997
Fiction
Age: 1 – up? Amazon says “preschool – K” but … my not-quite-three-year-old is in love with it.
A child’s imagined trip on a rocket to the moon, told in rhyme.
Theme/subject: Rockets, space travel
“Zoom! Zoom! Zoom!
I’m off to the moon.
Up, up, and away,
I’m leaving today.”
Rockets have a lot of cache in my house.  Because they are a form of transportation, yes, but also because they are rather mysterious, as I am not sure what parts of space travel are really comprehensible to my 2 year old. But mystery or no, he really loves this book.  I like it, too.  The text is simple and charming, just short rhyming lines about the various stages of space flight.  The pictures are big and colorful.  My son’s favorite page is the countdown to the blast off — he really enjoys anything related to counting right now and is especially enamored of counting backward.
His mind may have been blown when I tried to explain the page showing earthrise from the moon.  I’m not sure I did a very good job of it, though (thank goodness for books with pictures).

Wait a minute … this book is selling for $60 on Amazon.  Is it out of print?! Bummer.  We found this one at the library. Highly recommended for a toddler who loves rockets and space ships.  Also great for a squirmy kid who has trouble sitting still; you could really whip through this one in a flash if you had to.

Resources and activities for more fun:

Rocket craft upcycled from an old tp tube (I do love a good tp tube craft, seriously).

Make a straw rocket. OMG, will be attempting today. Esp if all you need is a straw, paper, and tape.

Jumping cups. For the record, we tried this one a while back and it broke immediately and was a source of great frustration to my then almost-2-year-old. Perhaps, like crayons, we need to try it again now that some time has passed.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Review: Zoom! Zoom! Zoom! I’m Off to the Moon! by Dan Yaccarino

  1. I’m a fan of Dan Yaccarino! I hope my library has this!

  2. Christa

    Any book for toddlers that includes onomatopoeia is likely to be a hit. ZOOOOOM.

  3. Pingback: Review: Chugga-Chugga Choo-Choo for PPBF | alicia finn noack

  4. Pingback: Recommended Children’s Books | alicia finn noack

Leave a Reply

