Review: What Do People Do All Day? for Perfect Picture Book Friday

For Perfect Picture Book Friday, I present: What Do People Do All Day?

What Do People Do All DayBy Richard Scarry, published by Random House 1968

Amazon says the intended age is 3 – 7. But my 2 year old thinks it is awesome. And I remember looking through this book long after I had moved on to reading my own chapter books.

Theme: Occupations (also: trains!)

“Some workers work indoors and some work outdoors. Some work up in the sky and some work underground.”

There is something so intriguing about Richard Scarry’s illustrations.  They are full of such minute detail; they reward every visit and revisit with new little nuggets to look at.  This was one of my favorite books as a kid, one I took from my parents’ house when I was planning to start my own family so I could read it to my own kids.  The stories I remember loving the best were Building a New House, Sergeant Murphy of the Busytown Police Department, and A Visit to the Hospital.  My son’s favorite are: The Train Trip (I can currently recite it from memory), The Story of Seeds and How They Grow, and The Airplane Ride. I still like looking at the cut-away pictures, showing the insides of different vehicles or parts of a coal mine.  On more than one occasion, I have caught Finn pouring over the pages by himself, just as I used to do when I was a kid.

Activities:

Make painter’s tape roads. Add blocks or legos to make some buildings. A few cork boats floating in a cookie pan. Make a car or train tunnel out of a cardboard box or toilet paper tube. It’s your own Busy Town.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Review: What Do People Do All Day? for Perfect Picture Book Friday

  1. I absolutely love Richard Scarry’s books! I would have poured over them if they would have been around when I was a child. Thanks for sharing this one.

  2. One cannot fail to please with a Richard Scarry book. Excellent pick. Thanks for the review.

  3. Joanna

    Scarry is a master, isn’t he? Great PPBF choice!

  4. Mom

    So, that’s where that great book went!!!

  5. Welcome to PPBF, Alicia! 🙂 LOVE this book… and pretty much anything Richard Scarry 🙂 There is something so appealing about them. And I remember hours of reading Cars and Trucks and Things That Go to my little brother and looking for Goldbug (who he ALWAYS found first :)) Your activity looks like fun too!

  6. Hi Alicia, i loved the title of this book. Caught my attention right away. Love books with so much detail in the illustrations. Thanks for sharing this one with us.

  7. First off Alicia, thank you so much for visiting my PPBF post and leaving such a lovely comment. Second, I LOVE your blog. Scrolled down and scanned some of your previous posts…OMG, my head almost nodded off my neck when I read the one about running out (after making sure the baby was nursed) for a couple of hours to Target (I used to go to Marshalls) and stealing a bit of time to have coffee and write.:) Good for you! And yes, never go back early…they will then think you need LESS time for yourself.:)

    Richard Scary books are much loved…my boys really enjoyed them (back in the 70’s) and my daughter read them also. Thanks for adding this one to the PPBF list!

    Alicia, it is lovely to connect with you!

    BTW, I clicked on the ‘editor’ and it took me to Evensong Publishing…is that you?

    • Evensong is run by my friend Ashley, but I am one of her assistants 🙂
      It is lovely to connect with you, too. I have had other blogs in the past and have been bad about sticking with it. I think making online friends is the best way to keep me accountable. It was really nice to read your comment, as I ruined dinner and broke the back of my pantry shelves today …

      • You are definitely an amazing writer, Alicia…you have a knack of knowing how to make people chuckle. 🙂 Glad you are participating in Perfect Picture Book Friday…this is an AWESOME community of writers, illustrators, educators, librarians and more…all who love books and reading and helping kids to become lovers of both.:)

  8. I am a fan of Richard Scarry so I must read this one. Thanks for sharing it!

  9. Great choice for PPBF. Love Richard Scarry’s work. My grandson’s couldn’t get enough of his books.

  10. Pingback: Non-Train Books That Have Trains, Too | alicia finn noack

Leave a Reply

