Update: Summer of Classic Books

We have been reading lots of “classic” children’s books this summer. It’s an effort to keep it interesting, I guess, and “complete” my children’s literature education. Where have I been finding lists of what to read? Pinterest, mainly. I search around and scroll through and order up a handful from the library. I am only allowed to request five items at a time, but that seems like a reasonable amount to get through before I go looking for more.

giving tree

I decided today that we are going to be skipping The Lorax. It’s on all kinds of book lists and I’m sure it has a wonderful message. But I don’t feel like reading a downer. I read it once when I was probably in elementary school and from what I remember, it was super sad. I read The Giving Tree just recently and maybe that ruined me for the whole “sad book” thing.

No more sad books!

Summer forever!

Two books we did read: Just So Stories by Rudyard Kipling and The House at Pooh Corner by A.A. Milne.

just so storiesJust So Stories gets a giant “meh” from me. Finn couldn’t sit through it and it was wordy in a way I did not find charming. But, maybe when we are a little older it will get more traction.

The House at Pooh Corner, on the other hand, is a real winner.  Finn loves this book. It is also very wordy, in a way that can get kind of old, but he sits through almost an entire story/chapter. Even though the pictures are few and far between.house at pooh corner

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Update: Summer of Classic Books

  1. The House at Pooh Corner is really long, isn’t it? My kids had trouble sitting through it as well but there were certain parts that they wanted me to read over and over. I may have started reading it when they were still too young. I can’t wait to see what else you read with your kids!

    • I am sure Finn is too young for these books. But, I guess I thought I would see what would happen and was kind of surprised at what he found interesting. It’s also nice, just for myself, to read something that is not another Thomas The Tank Engine adventure.

  2. Christa

    Can we talk about the Giving Tree For a second? Look, Giving Tree. I appreciate that you are a metaphor for Jesus, but you are not a metaphor for healthy relationships. In healthy relationships, you don’t have to be cut down to your roots to love someone. And then let them SIT ON YOU. Why??

  3. Pingback: Summer of Classic Books: New Classics | alicia finn noack

Leave a Reply

