Review: Chanticleer and the Fox

Have you ever checked out a picture book because *you* wanted to read it and didn’t really care if your kids thought it was interesting? I admit, I have done it. And not just because I am tired of reading the same fifteen train books they have at our local branch. It happened last week when I forgot the library bag and made some dumb pronouncement outside the doors, like, “Ok, just one book each!” And then Finn came out of the stacks with one called Buenos Noches, Miami and I thought, “Ok, fine, I will puzzle out the Spanish on that for you,” and Donovan grabbed one of those First 400 Words in the Kitchen type books that are just pictures and are impossible to read.

And then I saw Chanticleer and the Fox. Ooh, ooh, a book based on Chaucer! With sweet olde-tyme illustrations as well. My heart skipped a beat. I am still still a nerd English major of the worst sort.

chanticleer

So … it’s not that great. I mean, the story is cute, but they could have divorced it from Chaucer a little more, in my opinion. True, they updated the language to Modern English, but they didn’t really try to make the words child-friendly. And even though I I recently fell in love with Corduroy, a story about a teddy bear who searches for a button which is not exactly high adventure, I am not sure most kids are ready to follow a story about a rooster. A married rooster, at that. My kids listened to it exactly once, with looks on their faces that seemed to say, “They make books about all kinds of things, do they?” but I guess there is value even in that. I was tired of Chanticleer by about page four. And when the fox arrived, I hoped he would get eaten.

But I did love the pictures.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Review: Chanticleer and the Fox

  1. Similar to my sentiments about the @!*&@#$ Roadrunner. Just eat him already, Coyote. You can do it.

Leave a Reply

