Books We Are Reading This Week

I am trying to cut our library trips down to once a week. It’s been harder than I thought.  Finn’s school is within walking distance of a library and he used to go to school on a schedule that coincided with one of the days the library was closed. So he would ask to go to the library after school and much of the time, I would tell him that the library was closed that day. We have since switched schedules and now the library is open every day when I pick him up. It is really hard to tell a kid you can’t take him to the library. I have extreme guilt over this.

One thing we are going to try for the summer is to read some “classic” children’s books that we haven’t done yet.  Goodnight Moon and The Very Hungry Caterpillar have been staples, but it’s time for us to visit with some of the others that end up on “best” lists for kids.  The nice thing about looking for “old” books is that they are often at the library. Another goal of mine for the summer is to read some books with Finn that are specifically marketed to girls.  Princess books, pink books, you probably know what I’m talking about. If I had a daughter, I would be reading her books about boys, so I figure it’s only fair that my boys get a healthy dose of what “girls” are up to, at least in storybook land. I would really like to figure out how to circumvent this whole “stuff that is marketed to boys” v. “stuff that is marketed to girls,” but I am having a hard time figuring it out, since — at least in books — there is inevitably going to be one main character who is inevitably going to be a boy OR a girl. But, baby steps: first read some “girl” books, then have more thoughts later.

Here’s is what we are reading this week:

curious george

1. Curious George, the original by H.A. Rey and Margret Rey. Finn adores this story, even though he often comments on how sad it is. It is a little sad, because it shows how George was captured by the man in the yellow hat and taken away from the jungle. But it’s not as sad as the original Babar, which made me want to cry (maybe I was just having a bad day; maybe it was because someone had crossed out every instance of “hunter” in the book and written “poacher” over it).

round trip2. Round Trip by Ann Jonas. Fascinating book. It does include a train on one page and a subway on another; we keep getting hung up on those pages.

piggy pie3. Piggy Pie Po by Audrey and Don Wood. Super cute and fun to read!

king bidgood4. King Bidgood’s in the Bathtub also by Audrey and Don Wood. I went on a little Audrey and Don Wood kick, which is a wonderful thing about exploring the bookshelves instead of always ordering up what we want from a website. This book is hilarious and fun to look at.

5. train tripTrain Trip by Deanna Caswell and Dan Andreasen. What is a trip to the library without finding a train book? This one is a quick read and has pretty good pictures.

This post is part of the Kid Lit Blog Hop this week. Click on over to it and see what children’s books other people are reading.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Books We Are Reading This Week

  1. I’m living in Malaysia now with no public libraries. It’s very sad! Please make just one extra trip for him to the library for me, just because you can! 🙂 Your booklist looks great for the week! Thanks for sharing!
    Tina @ Mommynificent

  2. I love this book list. Popping over from the Kid Lit Blog Hop. We do something similar to this on my blog through a year-long series I post (mostly) each Saturday. It is called Project 101: Weekly Library Challenge where I share the favorite book my boys read from the library that week, and a book that I am reading from the library. By the end of the year, we will have shared 101 books in honor of our library’s 101st birthday.

  3. Fay

    Your thought about sadness in stories is so true. If you stop and take notice, many stories have a sad element that is somehow overshadowed by happiness in the end. Think about the Disney classics – Lady and the Tramp, Bambi, Snow White, Cinderella…. Books are different in that they are not all stories, so they don’t have to have this element.

    How nice that Finn is such a book lover – I’m pretty sure he must take after you. There is always a new adventure in a new book!

  4. That is a great list Alicia! We are doing something similar this summer. Reading Classics! For read alouds we are reading Secret Garden and Little House in the Big Woods. For reading alone, we are reading Many moons, Elephant and Piggie, Hans Christen Andersen fairy tales and books by Patricia Polacco. It can be hard to find books that dont have a central boy or girl theme! Maybe reading non-fiction? (plug: we have a great list on Stackingbooks) would give some variety 🙂
    -Reshama
    http://www.stackingbooks.com

  5. Piggy Pie Po sounds so cute! My kids would like it. Thanks for the great list!

  6. My son just brought home the French version of Round Trip from his school library not too long ago. I was absolutely amazed by that book! We both loved it. My kids also both liked the Curious George books. Some books are just really gender-neutral. My son also really enjoyed the “Olivia” books even though it was meant for girls. Thanks for linking into the Kid Lit Blog Hop! 🙂

Leave a Reply

